Online Anti-Sexual Harassment Training for All States
Federal Law applies to all 50 states in North America
Per the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, “Sexual harassment is a form of sex discrimination that violates Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Title VII applies to employers with 15 or more employees, including state and local governments. It also applies to employment agencies and to labor organizations, as well as to the federal government.”
Creating an environment where everyone can thrive
All organizations must take steps to protect employees from sexual harassment, sex discrimination, and retaliation. By providing equal access to training on these topics as well as other important topics such as diversity, emotional intelligence and stress management, you can help protect your organization from risks that can affect your business and impact the health and safety of all employees.
Sexual Harassment training Requirements
States with additional training requirements and measures:
- California: Mandatory two hours of training that include types of harassment, examples, and remedies.
- Colorado: No additional training requirements but encourages sensitizing to sexual harassment issues.
- Connecticut: Mandatory two hours of training that must address federal and local laws, definitions, and remedies.
- Florida: This state also requires affirmative action training.
- Hawaii: This state has no additional requirements but encourages preventive measures.
- Illinois: State program part of new employee and ongoing programs.
- Iowa: Affirmative action, cultural diversity training.
- Maine: Must include definition, federal/local laws, samples, complaint process, legal recourse, protection against retaliation.
- Maryland: Maryland Commission on Human Relations will review steps taken to combat sexual harassment in the workplace.
- Massachusetts: No additional requirements, but employers are encouraged to provide specific responsibilities of management.
- Michigan: The Department of Civil Rights is required to provide training.
- Nevada: Certified anti sexual harassment class is required.
- New Jersey: None, but New Jersey Supreme Court will review if employer is negligent in preventing sexual harassment under state law.
- New Mexico: Primary and secondary schools required to train all school personnel once a year.
- North Carolina: All state agencies are required to have an unlawful workplace harassment plan, including training.
- Ohio: None, but encourages preventive measures.
- Oklahoma: All state employees should receive EEO and discrimination training.
- Pennsylvania: State agency employees must have sexual harassment training.
- Rhode Island: None, but encouraged to provide specific responsibilities of management.
- Tennessee: State Department Personnel must assist with planning and delivering prevention training.
- Texas: State employees must receive discrimination training every 2 years.
- Utah: All state employees receive training approved by the Department of Human Resource Management and Risk Management every 3 years.
- Vermont: None, but encourages employers to provide sexual harassment training program.
- Washington: All state employees must take sexual harassment training.
- Wisconsin: None, but encourages sensitizing to sexual harassment issues.